2nd edition of The Sports Guy: Scorecard Scribblings From An Ordinary Journalist available at special ebook price of only $2.99

Kindle ScorecardScribblings CoverI need your help – and to get it, I’m offering my book for just $2.99 on Amazon.

For the past several years, I’ve been adding, subtracting and multiplying elements of the 2nd edition of The Sports Guy: Scorecard Scribblings From An Ordinary Journalist. I’m finally done. The hard copy update of the book for prospective sports journalists, broadcasters and creative folks is in its final copy-edit and type-setting stages and will be ready for the fall.

I feel strongly that this update for this generation, one that has many new jobs (and newly defined old ones) for a convergent and social media conscious sports world, is useful, sometimes funny and hopefully ultimately inspiring. So to kick it off – thanks to Amazon’s Kindle store – I am able to offer preview copies to you at the price of just $2.99. This special Kindle-exclusive price is only available until the new color cover, paperback version of the 2nd edition book is released, hopefully late this summer. Of course, the Kindle version will still be there, but the regular price will follow. To get it just click on one of the links above, or go to Amazon.com directly by copying and pasting this link: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00VOJIEGS . And if you’ve never read books on Kindle since you have an iBook or iPad or other reading device, the Kindle app is free and works like a charm.

All I ask is that if you like it, pass the word and please, write a review on the Amazon web page or even send me an email. If you’re a teacher, consider offering some of the advice up to your students or using the book in your class. If you’re a sports journalist and it helps you at any stage of your career, I would love to hear from you. And if you have any thing constructive to say – or anything you think will make the book better – I welcome that, too. I am thin-skinned, but at age 50-something I’m working on it. That’s why I hammered out a reboot of the book.

And when the hard copy comes out, as part of Kindle’s MatchBook program, you will be able to go back and buy the color cover 2nd edition at a special discount price.

What’s new? Some self-serving photos, of course. A decade has passed since the first edition. That means the production of my TV show Action Figures, taped along the beaches of southern California. There are stories to tell from my time with the NBA’s OKC Thunder. I have input from more peers, some famous, some not-so-famous – but all who draw paychecks covering sports.

Thanks for taking the time to buy this specially priced preview of the book.

Brent Weber

Leave a Reply

